22 students & 2 teachers honoured at Turnaround Achievement Awards

Article Posted: Thursday, April 20, 2017

A special group of students from Anglophone West School District who have worked extremely hard to make positive and lasting changes in their lives received Turnaround Achievement Awards.

This is the 23rd year students from schools within the Fredericton and Oromocto Education Centres of the Anglophone West School District received awards.
A ceremony took place on April 19 in Fredericton. 
The main purpose of the Turnaround Achievement Awards Program is to reward students who have shown the most effort, commitment and perseverance in turning around their lives. It affirms the true spirit of education: to assist youth in facing challenges and to redirect their lives so that they may lead a productive future.
The program also recognizes education’s unsung heroes. Heather Cripps from Gesner Street Elementary School and Andrew Culberson from Fredericton High School each received the Turnaround Achievement Educator of the Year Award.
“It is not always easy to persevere in the face of adversity,” said David McTimoney, superintendent, Anglophone West School District. “I am extremely proud of each and every one of our students, and our faculty and staff members who didn’t give up on these students.”
The students presented with Turnaround Achievement Awards are:
·         Roan Amos, Fredericton High School, Grade 12
·         William Astle, The Enterprise Centre, Grade 12
·         Emily Atyeo, Devon Middle School, Grade 8
·         Kyla Bonnell, Central New Brunswick Academy, Grade 12
·         Kayla Boyle, Leo Hayes High School, Grade 12
·         Stephanie Brown, Oromocto High School, Grade 12
·         Alexander Chase, Leo Hayes High School, Grade 12
·         Carson Deveaux, Harold Peterson Middle School, Grade 8
·         Jordan Gould, Keswick Valley Memorial School, Grade 8
·         Crysta Hachey, Minto Memorial High School, Grade 12
·         Hayley Ladds, Leo Hayes High School, Grade 12
·         Jenna Logan, Nashwaaksis Middle School, Grade 8
·         Kieran MacDonald, George Street Middle School, Grade 8
·         Andrew Mallory, Chipman Forest Avenue School, Grade 12
·         Carter Victor Marr, Bliss Carman Middle School, Grade 8
·         Brandon McGarity, Cambridge Narrows Community School, Grade 12
·         Shelby Merrill, Stanley Consolidated School, Grade 12
·         Chelsea Neumann, Fredericton High School, Grade 12
·         Bridgette Ryan, The Enterprise Centre, Grade 12
·         Meghan Thompson, The Enterprise Centre, Grade 12
·         Cassandra Williams, Oromocto High School, Grade 12
·         Savannah Yerxa, Keswick Ridge School, Grade 8