CARLETON AND NORTH YORK BRANCH, N.B. SOCIETY OF RETIRED TEACHERS

PRESENTS

THE PAULINE FORREST/SUTHER O'REGAN MEMORIAL BURSARY

PURPOSE: To assist deserving students who will be graduating from Carleton County and North York County high schools and who are planning to attend post secondary institutions on a full time basis. The value of each bursary will be \$500.00.

SELECTION OF RECIPIENTS: A committee of retired teachers will review <u>three</u> applications submitted by each school and select one each from:

> WOODSTOCK HIGH SCHOOL HARTLAND COMMUNITY SCHOOL CARLETON NORTH HIGH SCHOOL NACKAWIC HIGH SCHOOL CANTERBURY HIGH SCHOOL

- (1) All applicants must be graduating from a high school in Carleton and NorthYork Counties.
- (2) All applicants must be planning to attend a post secondary institution.
- (3) All applicants must have satisfactory scholastic standing.
- (4) All applicants must have made a contribution to school and community.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE / REQUIREMENTS:

Each of the schools mentioned is asked to forward applications from a maximum of three deserving students. Each application must be submitted on the official application form and include the following attachments:

- (1) Official transcript(s) of marks including first semester for their senior year...
- (2) A **statement** (maximum 2 pages) outlining contributions to school and community.
- (3) A reference letter.

Student applications are to be forwarded to the school guidance counselor or other designated person. The Carleton and North York Branch Trust Fund Committee will arrange to receive these applications on or before May 10, 2019. The names of the recipients of these bursaries will be announced at their respective graduation ceremonies in June.